Northern Service Area

General Information

Mission
To provide networking, resources and professional development to Northern Service Area members while supporting the overall objectives of the Virginia Recreation and Park Society.

 BYLAWS.pdf

VRPS Conference 2019

Board of Directors

2019 Board of Directors

Chair: Kaveh Tajalli, CPRP 

City of Fairfax

Facilities Coordinator

kaveh.tajalli@fairfaxva.gov

703-293-7119

 

Chair Elect: Julie Miles, CPRP

Recreation Manager

City of Alexandria, Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities

julie.miles@alexandriava.gov

703-746-5570

 

Treasurer: Amy Youngs  

Deputy Director

City of Falls Church, Recreation and Parks

amaltese@fallschurchva.gov

703-248-5137

 

Recorder: Dana Wedeles, AICP

Principal Planner

City of Alexandria Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities

dana.wedeles@alexandriava.gov

703-746-5491

 

Communications: Emilie Shumate, CPRP

Business Office Manager

Fairfax County Park Authority

emilie.shumate@fairfaxcounty.gov

703-324-8635

 

VRPS Liason to NSA: Kat Fish, CPRP

Aquatics Specialist II

Prince William County Park Authority

kfish@pwcgov.org



2020 New Elected Board Member


Roberta Korzen

Golf Marketing Specialist

Fairfax County Park Authority

roberta.korzen@fairfaxcounty.gov

703-324-8782



Service Area Workplan

Please read over our Northern Service Area workplan and always let us know if you have any feedback or suggestions!

VRPS NSA Yearly Workplan

Last Updated: 6/7/19

Meeting and Events Schedule

All VRPS Members are welcome! 

September 9, 2019 - NSA Social at VRPS Conference



September 25, 2019 - Business Meeting

10am-12:00pm

Warrenton Aquatic and Recreation Facility (WARF), Warrenton


November 14, 2019 - Business Meeting and Fall Workshop

10am - 3pm

Patrick Henry Recreation Center, Alexandria

John Henderson, Park Rx

Dr. Wong, PK Move

January 10, 2020 - Winter Social

The Land and Water Conservation Fund